Is It Okay To Switch Fields? - My Experience

·

5 min read

Hey! Welcome to my first blog. You have read the title and maybe you are also confused about switching the field. Well, let me tell you my story.

Let me take you three years back when my 12th result came and yes! I was not able to score good marks and that is why not able to get into a good college. I was stuck, depressed, and confused. But more than that I lost my confidence.

I used to think that I will not be able to do anything significant in life and I started hating my life.

One day I read a quote that "If you are in hell do not stop, why would you want to stay in hell so keep going" and it hit me like anything. I decided that I have to take charge of my life.

How to Take Charge of Yourself?

via GIPHY

If you are switching your field you need to understand that people around you will not believe in you in the starting phase of your life. The only person who will believe in you is "You". So you have to be very confident.

In 2019, I was facing the same problem no one believes in me, my vision of life, and maybe this was because I didn't achieve anything at that point. But I was determined that yes I have to do something to make myself a better version of myself.

I said "No" to college

Yes! You read that right. My parents wanted me to get enrolled in a college and do a bachelor's from a private college. But I said no and there were two reasons for that -

  1. I gave so many entrance tests and was not able to qualify for a single exam because I am a general category student.

It was very humiliating to see students scoring way lesser numbers than you and they qualified for the exam and you didn't. So I decided not to sit in any exam that has reservations or quotas.

  1. The second reason was I figured out that I do not have good memorizing power and our education system is all out memorizing stuff. Understanding things with their basis is my strength and that made me undeserving of the colleges.

So for my parent's happiness, I enrolled in the English Honours course.

What was the bigger problem?

All these things I mentioned were the main problem, but it was my confidence and I was determined that I have to increase my confidence. To increase that I started searching for skills that are needed and I am able to do it.

So I figured out Graphic Designing. I read about it and it just connected me so much that yes I want to do it.

Graphic Designing Journey

I took an offline course in Graphic Designing and fell in love with the learning process. It is a creative field. Every single day you are learning new tools, and methods, and thinking new things.

Human brains love creativity but college and our education system never respect that. The best part of graphic designing was, every day you have to think new.

You cannot use someone's design. You have to create something new and It just did something to me.

For one year I learned it and practiced and then I decided to use this knowledge. I started doing freelancing work and after some time I got an internship. And it just boosted my confidence to the next level.

The first time after class 12th result, I was feeling like yes! I can do something that can be worth to someone or can make a person happy and satisfied.

Then and there I took another call to try something new now. I fell in love with this process of learning and using knowledge. So I started. So I switched fields again.

Digital Marketing Journey

Yes! You read it right. Digital marketing, I chose this field for two reasons -

  1. It is in demand. A lot of people want to scale their online business or want to open an online business so they all need a digital marketer.

  2. It was tougher than graphic designing.

Yes! In digital marketing, you actually build someone's business. You are a part of someone's growth and that feeling is amazing.

So I enrolled myself in the Digital Marketing course. The course duration was 3 months and guess what, in the fourth month I had a digital marketing Internship.

Now when I look back on memories and think about that child who was so afraid of life and its challenges, so underconfident and used to carry constant fear of missing out has done Two internships one after the other.

And it was time to channel this energy of confidence to do something more bigger and tougher.

Programming Journey

Yes! Feb 2022 started my coding journey. I was completely new to this and my first Language was JAVA. I am practicing DSA and getting better at it.

I also learned python and built some amazing projects. I am having fun.

I know there is a lot to do in this field but the important thing is, now when looking back I realize that my father wanted me to do b.tech in CS and I said no and now I am in the same field.

The is the lesson - The lesson is to find your own way and make your own journey. It's okay to fail and failure is the synonym for Learning and struggle.

Talent Not Required!

You may be passionate about something. Maybe you do certain things with ease and a relaxing mind but let me tell you that talent is not required to explore, learn, and try new things out.

If you are a college student I suggest you in these 3-4 years explore what you are capable of, to be very precise explore "all" the things that you are capable of. Trust me you will not regret this.

I hope you like this article and please share if you find it interesting.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Ishan Gaur by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!