Importance of being a part of the community - My Experience

Importance of being a part of the community - My Experience

ยท

4 min read

Hey guys! Welcome back to another blog and I thank all of you for supporting and boosting my confidence so that I can share such knowledge with you. Today we are going to talk about the communities.

Alot of people may or may not know about building a community or getting indulged in communities.

In this article, I am going to share my experience and how getting indulged in communities helped me grow in my career. And please sponsor my blog and boost my motivation.

Five Ways Open Source Communities Can Increase User Engagement

What is a Community?

When you start a career in any field, the number one thing that you lack is good guidance. You are unfamiliar with the terrain and how to get started for that matter. And here the community comes into the picture.

The simple meaning of community means a group of like-minded people or you can put it this way people doing the same thing that you also wanna do.

now you will say what is the need for that. So let's answer this.

Open Source vs Closed Source? | TablePlus

What is the need of being a part of the community?

When I passed out my school, I wanted to work on my skills rather than being a part of a preplanned education system. So I explored the field of graphic design. I was the fresher in that domain. The one thing I did was started talking to a lot of graphic designers.

This helped me know what this field is all about and how to become the best in it. And it also helped me get my first internship.

Same as I did for my digital marketing and programming journey.

Community gives you exposure and helps sort you out from the complicated thing that you can face. It also helps you build your overall personality.

Free Question Mark Pile illustration and picture

Everyone wants to talk or to see what the top 1% people of in their field are doing. Community reduces that gap. You can talk to the mentors and take guidance from them.

How to take part in communities?

Taking part in communities plays an important role as a fresher. The best way is to learn in public. Now you will ask what is learned in public is all about, let's talk about it.

What is Learn in Public mean?

Learning in public simply means sharing what you are learning and about your growth. There is a saying that keeps it private until it's done. But it's done, The correct way to put it is, to keep it private from those who have nothing to do with it.

Learning in public is all about if you are learning something, that sharing that with like-minded people or folks of your on the field. This is not showing off, this is called engaging in the community.

Learning In Public - YouTube

Need for learning in public

Learning in public build credibility. People get to know about you and that you are doing something related to this field.

It also helps in networking, and it is very important for your career growth. The stronger network you will have, the more chances you get to land with better opportunities.

Steps of learning in public

Suppose you are learning about DevOps. You just need to share it on social media. Share what you have learned so far. If you attended a conference, just share about it.

It shows that you are active in the community and also helping out other folks for that. You can check out my Linkedin for a better understanding.

Tap Here Click GIF by Felix Beilharz

Apart from learning in public, there are several community programs where you can take part in hackathons or fellowship programs as well.

WeMakeDevs is one of the communities which helps folks to contribute to the tech world. Also, they organize several events in which you can take part. Do check it out

Open source is one way to get engaged in communities. Now the question is what is an open source? It means working on the project of an organization and contributing to it on the basis of your skills.

Here I am listing some of the best programs that can help you.

Top 5 Open Source Programs to start with

  1. Reinforcement Learning Open-Source Fest

  2. LFX Mentorship Program

  3. MLH Fellowship Program

  4. Google Summer of Code

  5. Hacktober Fest

These are the top 5 open source programs you can take part in.

Video gif. A beaming young boy sits at a table with his hands clenched. His smile grows into an excited face as he feverishly interlocks his fingers.

Thank You ๐Ÿ™

Hope you find this article helpful, and if you want to support me do sponsor my blog. A small contribution will help and do subscribe to my mailing list.

Buy Me A Coffee

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Ishan Gaur by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย